The Love Series Part 5

1 Corinthians 13

imagePart 5

“Charity suffereth long, and is kind; charity envieth not; charity vaunteth not itself, is not puffed up.” ~1 Corinthians 13:4

Last time, we left off where real love was serving with humility and patience. Today, we shall learn that love is not jealous, a braggart, or vain.

“Charity envieth not…”

Envieth means “A feeling of discontentment, or a resentful longing aroused by someone else’s possessions, quality, or fate. Desire for one’s self.” It derived from the words envie, which means “grudge”, and invidia, “to see”.

One way you could look at that, is in order to envy something, usually you see it with your own eyes. If you just heard about, say, maybe your cousin got a nice car, you’d think, “Wow, that’s great! Good for them!” But then at church the next day, you take a tour of their new vehicle, and since you’ve been looking for a nice car for months, even before your cousin, you start wishing you had one just like it.

Those are the kind of things the devil uses to place oughts between people, like Jesus says in Mark 11:25. “And when ye stand praying, forgive, if ye have ought against any: that your Father also which is in heaven may forgive you your trespasses.” Don’t let there be anything, even a teeny tiny sliver of dislike or envy come between you and another person. The results could be fatal.

“Charity vaunteth not itself; is not puffed up.”

Vaunteth means “to boast excessively about something”; the Latin origin means “vain, or empty.”

No one really enjoys hanging out with a person that talks nonstop about their own abilities or good qualities.

“…Is not puffed up.”

“Puffed up” is another name for proud, which translates to “having or showing an excessively high opinion of oneself or self importance; imposing.”

Kinda like vaunting.

I neglected to mention that I got a sweet graduation gift from my wonderful aunt yesterday! Deana got one as well. It is a locket that tells a story with the charms. She got it from the company called Origami Owl. Here is a picture of mine! Thank you so much, Auntie! I really like my gift! Love you!

The charms on my locket are a 2016, a C, the word faith, a camera, a book, a piano, and a blue heart. 

Please tell me some of your thoughts and/or ideas on The Love Series! I’d love to hear about it.

Have a blessed day! Ciao~


Here’s the link! 



2 thoughts on “The Love Series Part 5

  1. I’m thankful to the Lord for loving me. He is so kind & thoughtful. Everyone needs Love. And everyone needs to Love. Life has no meaning without Love. I really apprecipate ur blog & enjoy it so much! I look forward to reading it. Thanks! May God Bless you & may ur blog bless many others!


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s